The MDA is governed by a National Council made up of elected MDA members and Branch representatives who volunteer their time to the benefit of the Association. The National Council meets six times a year, two of these meetings are face to face and the others are via teleconference. 

The elected councillors are responsible for setting the strategic direction of the association, appointing the Chief Executive and overseeing subcommittees. If you would like to review the current Strategic Plan click here

The Finance Subcommitee has a particular role in overseeing the financial management of the MDA.

For more information on what it might mean for you to be part of a charity governance structure click here

Nominations are now open

For more information about eligibility requirements click here

Our AGM is coming up on April 28th: view the agenda here

Please click here to download the nomination form


The current National Council members are:

Chairperson - Heather Browning

Vice Chairperson - Sophie Tauwehe Tamati

Rangatahi/Youth Representative - Olivia Shivas

Northern Branch Representative - Trevor Jenkin

Wellington Branch Representative - Peter Tegg

Canterbury Branch Representative - Warren Hall

Southern Branch Representative - Raewyn Hodgson

Other Elected Members:                                                   

  • Derek Woodward

  • Ken Green 

  • Jan Daly

  • Kerry Stephenson

  • Andrea McMillan

If you're an MDA member and you wish to view the National Council reports and other related information click here